The Alpha Post

Welcome to the website, my blog and the first post! I hope you will enjoy the content and that this will be the first of many visits. This is all very new to me so I am sorry if the results are not very professional. The website was “launched”  a few days ago and I hope it may be of help to Christian and non-Christian alike.

Now let me introduce you to the other member of the family. Rusty is an almost five year old male Golden Retriever, and accompanies me pretty well everywhere. Living in a small village in the West Highlands of Scotland, it is easy to get into the hills for long walks. Just this afternoon we were looking down on the village as we made our way home late in the afternoon.

Until  recently it has been quite a problem taking Rusty walking in the hills. He would trot ahead, very well-behaved and then suddenly he would scent a deer, and he was gone! Even if I saw him go he would pay no attention to my commands.   Half an hour later, to the minute, he would return, usually covered in mud and exhausted. A quick dip in the burn and he was as right as rain. However I knew something would have to be done when on more than one occasion he didn’t return and was found miles away, patiently waiting at a gate for me to come and open it so that he could return home. I of course was expected to know just where he was waiting!

I began to think that we might never be able to enjoy walking together in the hills, and that would have been tragic because I knew Rusty loved the freedom. As I tried to think how I could correct his behaviour, I remembered that when leaving the house Rusty would always allow me to go ahead. He obviously recognised me as the “pack” leader, the “Alpha” dog. I decided to try an experiment and on the next walk as he trotted ahead I ordered him to fall in behind me. Amazing!  He obeyed instantly, and each time he edged forward, one word was enough to correct him. It was then that I realised that by allowing him to go ahead he had obviously assumed that I wanted him to accept leadership and make the decisions about what should be pursued and where we should go! When the roles were reversed he was perfectly happy to follow along behind, content to leave the decision-making to me, and obey without question whatever orders I saw fit to give.

As I thought about this, I began to realise that as a Christian, very often I behave in a similar way to Rusty. I profess to love and follow the Lord Jesus Christ and own Him as my Master and Lord. Yet time and again I want to make the decisions, to run ahead of Him, certain that I know what is best. And pretty soon I realise that I am exhausted and on my own and that I need to return to my Master. Sometimes I too come up against a closed gate far from home, and have to pray that He would come and rescue me and lead me back.

Our walks in the hills are so much more enjoyable now. I hope too that I have learned from Rusty how I should walk with my Master!   “For this God is our God for ever and ever: he will be our guide even unto death.”  Psa 48:14

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Alpha Post

  1. Anne says:

    What a lovely post, Brian. And what a gorgeous dog! As you say, that illustration is so like the way we are so often…..me anyway – wanting to run ahead, and go my own way instead of the way of the Master. And how slow I am to learn that there is no more perfect way than following His lead. Slow learners, but infinitely patient Saviour.
    Blessings

  2. Kathy Peyton says:

    Hi Brian. What a lovely anecdotal illustration of how we behave like Rusty so often, in fact every time we sin. We profess to follow Christ, but then do things our way! “My sheep hear my voice, and I know them and they follow me” (John 10:27). Oh that we would have ears to hear!

  3. David Peyton says:

    What a lovely post, Brian! Great start to the blog.

    That was a great lesson learned from Rusty. Reminds me of Joh 8:12, “I am the light of the world: he that followeth me shall not walk in darkness, but shall have the light of life.”

    Just a recommendation: usually, the “Blog” menu link lies next to “Home” in pages like this. If you want to change it, you just change the page ordering (using quick edit) on the edit pages page.

Leave a Reply

