Peace, perfect peace.

When I was a wee boy in the 1950’s I used to walk three miles along a country road to visit my grandparents. They lived in a little wooden house surrounded by pine trees. There was little if any traffic on that road in those days, and I can still remember the peace of the countryside. I experienced it again just recently as I walked through a forest far above my village. When I stopped, there was absolute silence! Occasionally you could hear the flutter of a bird’s wing but apart from that there was perfect peace. It was beautiful.

Last night, before bed, I was reading Hebrews 13 : 20-21.

“ Now the God of peace, that brought again from the dead our Lord Jesus, that great shepherd of the sheep, through the blood of the everlasting covenant,
Make you perfect in every good work to do his will, working in you that which is wellpleasing in his sight, through Jesus Christ; to whom be glory for ever and ever. Amen.”

 

“The God of peace.” In this world, in our nation and in the hearts of so many people today there is so little real peace. But God is a God of peace. The angels’ message that first christmas was “Glory to God in the highest, and on earth peace, good will toward men.”  Luk 2:14 A God of love, by sending His Son the Lord Jesus Christ into this world, made a way whereby sinful man might know peace with God, for ….. “God was in Christ, reconciling the world unto himself”…….  2Co 5:19a

How wonderful!  There is nothing like it in the whole world. The God of the universe is at peace with me. “Peace I leave with you, my peace I give unto you: not as the world giveth, give I unto you. Let not your heart be troubled, neither let it be afraid.”   Joh 14:27 Peace when I wake in the morning, when I face all the problems of daily life and when I lay my head on the pillow at night. And it’s perfect peace, for “Thou wilt keep him in perfect peace, whose mind is stayed on thee: because he trusteth in thee.”  Isa 26:3

 


 

 

 


 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

